10 Surprising Foods That May Contain Gluten

If you have celiac disease or nonceliac gluten sensitivity, you undoubtedly check labels or only buy products with a reassuring “certified gluten-free” seal. (Soon, thanks to new FDA rules, no product can claim “gluten free” unless it’s verified at 20ppm or less.)

For the gluten-free newbie, though, this list may offer a few "watch out" moments. Remember: If a product is manufactured in the U.S. with wheat, it must disclose that on the label (typically at the bottom of the ingredient list); but it does not have to disclose other gluten culprits, such as barley and rye – and all bets are off if the product is made outside the U.S.

1. Licorice

Yup, your beloved Twizzlers and Panda Licorice list “wheat flour” as the second ingredient (second to corn syrup; great). Fortunately, some newer natural brands, such as Orgran and Candy Tree, are gluten free.

2. Flavored potato chips

They may look innocuous in their perfect shapes, but watch out: wheat starch appears on many flavored potato chips' ingredient lists, including BBQ and Sour Cream & Onion.

3. Worcestershire sauce

Alas, this Caesar-salad-dressing staple often contains malt vinegar from barley. Look for versions, such as Lea & Perrins, that use distilled white vinegar instead of malt vinegar.

4. Sushi

Rice, seaweed, fish … what could go wrong? Plenty: Imitation crabmeat (common in grocery sushi) contains wheat as a binder. Then there’s the soy sauce: a well-known gluten-containing ingredient.

5. Seasoning mixes

Single-ingredient spices are OK, but watch out for mixes like taco seasoning, which could contain wheat.

6. Deli meats

Depends on the brand. All Boar’s Head deli meats are gluten free, but some ready-to-eat meats have flavorings or fillers with wheat. Be sure you read exactly what’s in the kind you buy. And be careful of store-made sandwiches, which may have been assembled on a bread-crumb-laden counter.

7. Salad dressings

Bottled dressings and marinades vary widely, even within brands. Also, any flavor could be cross-contaminated in the manufacturing facility, so look for those that are certified gluten free – or stick with plain oil and vinegar (both of which are gluten free).

8. Sausages and meatballs

Premade and restaurant meatballs and sausages often contain wheat as a binder. Read and ask.

9. Miso

Often made with barley, which is a no-go. Fortunately, you can find wonderful miso that’s made with rice or beans and therefore gluten free. (Still, check labels.) I love South River organic chickpea miso.

10. Medications

Not exactly food, but prescription meds and supplements are growing markets for gluten-free certification. Because formulations can change, always check with a manufacturer directly.

Article courtesy of DeliciousLiving.com, posted August, 2013, and found here.

The best way to test heavy metals.

Featured product

Hair Mineral Analysis Kit

Healthy Goods

Hair Mineral Analysis Kit


Recently viewed